WHATS NEW?

Mim Shaikhartworks-000201828807-hwbwu1-t500x500

About a week ago I caught one of the most realist spoken word pieces on twitter by a creative called Mim Shaikh.  Some of you maybe familiar with Mim as he is also a radio broadcaster for BBC 1xtra Sat-Sun 6-10am and BBC Asian Network Thursday 9pm-12am. Mim Shaikh wrote an open letter to his mom who battles with depression from being in an abusive relationship.

I wrote this sincere and honest open ‘Letter To My Mother’ where I express my most honest thoughts and feelings towards our lacking relationship whilst growing up. This is dedicated to anyone who has or is still growing up in similar broken family situations and to every human being on this earth who seeks perfection in themselves by looking inwards – Mim Shaikh

 

“Letter to Mom” really resonates with me personally and you all know how fond I am of open letters as previously I featured my personal open letter  COUSIN LOVE  which was inspired by Cadet’s letter to his cousin Krept (rap duo Krept and Konan). Funny enough Cadet retweeted Mim Shaikh’s “Letter to mom” and I checked it out and it just instantly touched me because the story was so similar to my own. I  have family members who battle with psychological issues. Watching someone who I love and gave me life that lives with depression, anxiety or schizophrenia for most of their adult life is hard, as we almost become strangers because they don’t really acknowledge YOU sometimes because they are locked in their own world. I realised that these particular family members actually dont know the simplest things about me such as my favourite meal or colour.

Listening to Mim’s story, the part where he says ‘I don’t know your favourite colour and you dont know mine.’ I remember one day I asked my mom to tell me something that I like, and  she never really knew what my favourite colour was. I remember thinking about my other friends when their family used to mention somethings about them and nearly everyone knew their favourite colour. After listening to this spoken piece I really felt OK knowing that there are people who have similar stories like mine. It’s become the norm to share your stories not as a sob story but in a way that really touches home for a lot of people.

Thank You Mim Shaikh

FOLLOW MIM SHIKH

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MimShaikh_

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mim_shaikh/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mimshaikhoff…
Contact: mim@mimshaikh.com

 

 

NEW MUSIC

THE RED HARDRIVE VOL 1 BY CHERRI V

 

It’s been a minute since I have heard Cherri V sweet vocals after such her fantastic EP “Athazgoraphobia”so I was very intrigued to hear Cherri’s new project “The Hard Drive Vol.1” which is a collection of 5 unreleased songs. What I like about Cherri V is that it doesn’t matter how long she hasn’t released new material for, I like that she maintains peoples interest and she brings that extra sparkle to music.  Cherri’s vocals is soft and so interesting that even if I may not like all of the songs, I know that I have to listen to every single song. Another thing that I like is that I can tell that by the way Cherri sings I know she has written her songs or just naturally puts her passion into every track.

My personal favourite is #1 as it’s a real womans track and lyrics reflect that  ‘I AM’ no 1.

 

FOLLOW CHERRI V

Twitter: https://twitter.com/cherrivoncelle

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cherrivoncelle/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/CherriVon

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cherriv

 

Let know your thoughts on this weeks blog posts. Next blog will feature New Favourites so send me some of you suggestions.

Email: inspiremysmile@icloud.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/funkynessa

Instagram: @funkynessa

 

Words by Vanessa Ryan

Leave a Reply

