EDITOR’S REAL TALK

irritated

Hi readers

I don’t know about you guys but I have noticed a high increase of ‘How not to do this’’10 mistakes people make’ and ‘The do’s and don’t s’ blogs trending more than ever.  There is nothing wrong with giving people advice and tips on these blogs sites, however there are too many and this can be very confusing.

The reason why this can be confusing is because when readers are researching and they come across a ’10 things you shouldn’t do’ posts and one says the complete opposite to the other how will people know which one is right or wrong? For me personally I don’t follow them because I honestly believe writing should be done however the authors and editors want to do them.  Blogging doesn’t have to be professional and all journalistic.

I actually find myself criticising the format and structure of articles in national newspapers written by a professional journalist. In 2015 nobody wants to read the same stuff repeated but worded differently.

I’m going to be honest I didn’t quite make the B mark in English at school as you can probably tell from grammar, spelling errors from time to time. However I always got my marks for my coursework and writing good essays. I actually think the cliché journalistic articles need to change as they are dry, they often repeat the sentences further down the articles and they use descriptive language that is not necessary.

So here is what I have to say:

If you are going to write those ’10 things tips’ articles please only share if it’s from your own experiences. There are no real rules when it comes to blogging, however do be careful when it comes to copyrighting and crediting images.

Remember what may work for, may not work for other writers.

Inspire Mysmile welcomes all feedback

Words By Vanessa Ryan

Leave a Reply

